

OFFICE OF THE PRIME MINISTER 13-15 ST. CLAIR AVENUE, ST. CLAIR Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Attention: HEAD OF NEWS and EDITOR IN CHIEF MEDIA RELEASE

December 14th 2016

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

No of Pages: 1 Contact: Communications Unit 622-1625 Ext. 4013

Prime Minister Rowley attends Swearing-in Ceremonies

Prime Minister Dr the Honourable Keith Rowley has been making the rounds at swearing in ceremonies of several City and Regional Corporations this week.

On Tuesday morning (13th December) the Prime Minister attended the Port of Spain City Corporation Ceremony at City Hall Port of Spain where Mr Joel Martinez, Ms Asha Permanand, Mr Wade Coker and Mr Wendell Stephen were sworn in as aldermen. Mr Joel Martinez went on to be elected as Mayor with Councillor Hillan Morean named as Deputy Mayor.

On Tuesday afternoon Prime Minister Rowley attended the swearing in ceremony for aldermen of the Diego Martin Regional Corporation at Pier One Chaguaramas. At this meeting, the aldermen sworn in were Ms Irene Hinds, Mr Sigler Jack, Mr Paul-Daniel Nahous and Mr Spencer Tardieu. Councillor Susan Hong went on to be elected Chairman of the Diego Martin Corporation while Ms Catherine Mendez will serve as Deputy Chairman.

Prime Minister Rowley next attended the swearing in ceremony for aldermen in the San Fernando City Corporation on Wednesday (14th December). Those taking the oath were Mr Johannes Deonarine, Mr Junia Regrello, Mr Shane Samlal and Ms Maxene Thomas. At the meeting Mr Junia Regrello was elected Mayor while Councillor Ms Vidya-Mungal Bissessar was elected Deputy Mayor.